Honorary committee

Honorary committee

Most Rev. Charles Morerod
Bishop of the Diocese of Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg
Mr Dominique de Buman
Member of Switzerland Parliament’s National Council
Mr Maurizio Croci
Organ Professor HEMU (Lausanne’s University of Music)
Mr Joseph Deiss
former President of the Confederation
Rev. Arnaud Evrat
Rector of the Basilica
Rev. Canon Paul Frochaux
Pastor of the Cathedral of Saint Nicholas
Mr John Howe
Illustrator – Conceptual artist
Mr Claude Joye
President of the Foundation of the Basilica
Mrs Ruth Lüthi
former State Councillor of the Canton of Fribourg, President of the Organ Academy of Fribourg

The Basilica of Notre-Dame

The oldest church of the city

The original church built on the site, in the first half of the 12th century, makes the Basilica of Notre Dame the oldest shrine of the city. In the course of centuries, many changes, expansions and restorations have taken place, with an eye to adapting the building to the needs and the tastes of the period.

The last radical transformation took place between 1785 and 1787. This consisted in the construction of a peristyle in the Tuscan order in front of the west façade, as well as the transformation of the inside of the building in a Louis XVI style. This neo-classical modernity has ensured the continued existence of this monument, the conservation of which was in doubt.

A church in service of souls and of the body

The church belonged for a long time to the Hospital of the Bourgeois, which was situated up until 1623 in the neighborhood. Several lay congregations were founded in the church and crafts guilds had their altars inside.

In 1884, the ownership of the church was given to the Diocese of Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg. It was thereafter elevated to the rank of Minor Basilica by Pope Pius XI in 1932. The church was given by the Diocese to the present Fondation in 1968, when the crumbling state of the bell tower began to worry the Foundation Council, which decided in 1970 to begin a restoration. On this occasion, it was decided to replace the bulb dome from 1842 with a new spire inspired by the original tower, seen on the famous map of the city of Fribourg by Martin Martini.

The recent restoration

The latest restoration began in 1991 and finished in 2011. It was a necessity given the very worrying state of the church, but the restoration has given a new life to this ancient building.

In September 2012, Bishop Morerod of the Diocese of Lausanne-Geneva-Fribourg, entrusted the Priestly Fraternity of St Peter with the pastoral care of the Basilica.

Why a new organ?

The church of Notre Dame already had an organ in 1501. In 1665, a contract was established with the organ builder Sebald Manderscheidt for the construction of a positive with five registers, an instrument which was afterwards sold but which, after extraordinary historical vicissitudes, was installed in 1982 in the chapel of the old Hospital of the Bourgeois.

 

During the transformations of the Basilica between 1785-1787, an organ was commissioned from Joseph Anton Mooser, father of the renowned Aloys Mooser. The decoration of the organ case was by Dominique Martinetti. This instrument was completed in 1786 and underwent several transformations, before being replaced in 1916 by a new organ constructed by Henri Wolf-Giusto on the inside of the existing case. The painting attributed to Eugène Reichlen dates from this period. This latest instrument was sold in 1948 to the parish of Massonnens and replaced by an electronic organ. However, the organ builder Emile Dumas, who constructed the organ of Massonnens in 1949, decided in the end to not use the pieces coming from Notre Dame, which explains its disappearance. The Wurlitzer electronic organ of 1948 had to be replaced several times in order to ensure the musical accompaniment of the liturgy of the Basilica.

 

After the important restoration of the Basilica which took place these last two decades, the project to endow the Basilica with a new instrument became more and more prominent, given the importance of the shrine in the history of our city. This restoration will not be truly completed until the installation of a new organ!

 

The project

The project approved by the Foundation Council of the Notre Dame Basilica, according to the proposal of the Organ Commission, is based on the following criteria:

An instrument adapted to the liturgy, which thus corresponds to the primary vocation of the organ, a liturgical instrument par excellence, but also an instrument in harmony with the history and the architecture of the church. It recalls the instrument of Joseph Anton Mooser, which in its turn was influenced by the organ builders of Alsace at the end of the 18th century. The style of the case is marked by the simplicity and austerity of the late Louis XVI style, the style which inspired the restoration of 1753.

This is a style of organ which would be well placed in the organo-musical landscape of Fribourg, and would add to the diversity of the organs of the city. This project is inspired by the instruments of the builder Johann Andreas Silbermann (1712-1783), the last representative of a long and celebrated line of organ builders, whose instruments are particularly well-suited to the execution of French and German music of the 17th and 18th centuries.

The organ builder

The organ builder chosen for the construction of this instrument is the Manufacture Blumenroeder, under the young organist and organ builder Quentin Blumenroeder, at Haguenau, in Alsace. The Blumenroeder workshop has a wide experience in the restoration of Silbermann instruments, as well as in the construction of new instruments, with the latest being the organ of Charolles in Burgundy.

The composition of the organ

II Grand Orgue

Bourdon 16’ | Montre 8’ | Bourdon 8’ | Prestant 4’ | Quinte 2’ 2/3 | Doublette | Tierce 1’ 3/5 | Fourniture | Cymbale | Cornet 5 rgs | Trompette 8’ | Clairon 4’ | Voix humaine 8’ | Tremblant général

I Positif de dos

Bourdon 8’ | Prestant 4’ | Flûte 4’ | Nazard | Doublette | Tierce | Larigot | Cymbale | Cromorne

III Echo

Bourdon 8’ | Salicional 8’ | Prestant 4 de Cornet | Cornet (dessus) 3rgs | Basson 8’ dessous | Trompette 8’ (dessus)

Pédale

Soubasse 16’ | Octave 8’ | Octave 4’ | Trompette 8’ | Clairon 4’ | Basse de Posaun 16’

The keyboards will have 56 notes from low C to high G, and the pedal will hal 32 notes from low C to G. The whole instrument will be made according to the best practices of historical organ building. The harmonisation of the pipes will be done in collaboration with Jean-Marie Tricoteaux. The temperament will be taken from Silbermann, recently discovered on the positive organ of the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Strasbourg, with the tuning at A=415, common with instruments of the 18th century. The sumptuous sounds of Silbermann can thus be well reconstructed, but in order to avoid the problems with an organ of this type, a continuo organ, with transposable keyboards, will also be commissioned from the builders Frédéric Desmottes in Landete, Spain.

…….

Financing

The budget is chf 573,000.- for the great organ and chf 31, 000.- for the continuo organ, to which will be added the expenses from the adaptation of the infrastructure of the building.

The financing will come from private sources, besides contributions from public organizations and semi-public foundations.

Donations

Donators to the organ building project will be given an Attestation of the Association of the Friends of the Notre Dame Basilica and may be granted tax deductions. According to the wishes of the most generous donors, their names will be engraved on a plaque placed on the instrument.

Donors may also show their support by financing individual organ pipes. The names of the donors will be engraved on the pipe(s) which they have financed. A plan of the pipes and of their costs is available here.

(leaflet also available in German and French)

Donations can be sent to the following bank account:

Banque Cantonale de Fribourg – Compte « Orgue Basilique »
IBAN : CH07 0076 8300 1317 4310 6
SWIFT : BEFRCH22

Make a PayPal donation:

 

The level of donations will be constantly updated and posted in real time on the website:

Current fundraising levels

The bank account “Orgues” on the 13th of October June 2020: 109’672,25 CHF
Pledge by the Loterie de la Suisse Romande of 100’000 CHF for the adaptation of the organ loft, and 20’000 CHF from the Bureau of the parishes of Fribourg. Three promises were made in the amount of CHF 420,000.
Current total: 649’672,25 CHF
Total budget: 880’000.- CHF
Still needed: 230’327,75 CHF

Comité d’honneur

Mgr. Charles Morerod
Évêque du diocèse de Lausanne, Genève et Fribourg
Dominique de Buman
Conseiller national
Maurizio Croci
Professeur d’orgue à la HEMU
Joseph Deiss
Ancien Président de la Confédération
Abbé Arnaud Evrat
Recteur de la Basilique Notre-Dame
Chanoine Paul Frochaux
Curé de la Cathédrale Saint-Nicolas
John Howe
Illustrateur – artiste conceptuel
Claude Joye
Président de la Fondation de la Basilique Notre-Dame
Ruth Lüthi
Ancienne Conseillère d’État et Présidente de l’Académie d’orgue de Fribourg

La Basilique Notre-Dame

La plus vieille église de la ville

L’église d’origine érigée sur le site, dans la première moitié du XIIIe siècle, fait de la Basilique de Notre-Dame de Fribourg le plus ancien sanctuaire de la ville. Au travers des siècles, de nombreux agrandissements, transformations et restaurations ont eu lieu, tendant périodiquement à adapter l’édifice aux besoins et mode de l’époque.
La dernière transformation radicale est intervenue entre 1785 et 1787. Elle consista en l’adaptation d’un péristyle toscan à l’avant de sa façade occidentale ainsi qu’en l’aménagement de l’intérieur de l’édifice dans le style Louis XVI. Cette modernité néo-classique assura la pérennité à ce monument dont la conservation était contestée.

Une église au service des âmes et des corps

L’église a longtemps appartenu à l’Hôpital des Bourgeois, cet établissement se trouvant jusqu’en 1683 dans le quartier du Bourg. Plusieurs congrégations de laïcs y ont été fondées et des corporations d’artisans y avaient leurs autels.
En 1884, la propriété de l’église fut transférée à l’Évêché du diocèse de Lausanne, Genève et Fribourg. Elle fut ensuite élevée au rang de Basilique Mineure par le Pape Pie XI en l’an 1932. Donnée par l’Évêché à la Fondation actuelle en 1968, l’état de vétusté du clocher préoccupe le Conseil de Fondation qui décide en 1970 sa restauration. À cette occasion, il est décidé de remplacer le bulbe datant de 1842 par une nouvelle flèche s’inspirant de la forme originelle attestée sur le célèbre plan de la ville de Fribourg de Martin Martini.

La restauration récente

La dernière restauration débute en 1991 et se termine en 2011. Rendue nécessaire par l’état alarmant du bâtiment, elle donne une nouvelle jeunesse à ce vénérable édifice.
En septembre 2012, Mgr Morerod, évêque du diocèse, confie à la Fraternité Sacerdotale Saint-Pierre la charge pastorale de la Basilique.

Un nouvel orgue : pourquoi ?

L’église de Notre-Dame disposait d’un orgue déjà en 1501. En 1665, un contrat fut passé avec le facteur d’orgue Sebald Manderscheidt pour la construction d’un positif à cinq registres, instrument vendu par la suite mais qui, après un parcours historique singulier, a pris sa place en 1982 dans la chapelle de l’ancien Hôpital des Bourgeois.

Dans le cadre des transformations de la Basilique entre 1785-1787, un orgue fut commandé au facteur d’orgues Joseph Anton Mooser, père du célèbre Aloys Mooser. Les décorations du buffet sont de Dominique Martinetti. Cet instrument a été terminé en 1786 et a subi plusieurs transformations, pour être remplacé en 1916 par un nouvel orgue construit par Henri Wolf-Giusto à l’intérieur de l’ancien buffet. C’est de cette époque que date un tableau de cet instrument attribué à Eugène Reichlen. Ce dernier instrument fut vendu en 1948 à la paroisse de Massonnens et remplacé par un orgue électronique. Mais le facteur d’orgues Emile Dumas qui a construit l’orgue de Massonnens en 1949 n’a finalement pas utilisé les éléments en provenance de Notre-Dame, ce qui explique sa disparition. L’orgue électronique Wurlitzer de 1948 a dû être remplacé plusieurs fois pour permettre d’assurer l’accompagnement musical de la liturgie dans la Basilique.

Après l’importante restauration de la Basilique effectuée ces deux dernières décennies, le projet de doter la Basilique d’un nouvel instrument s’est ainsi rapidement imposé au vu de l’importance du sanctuaire dans l’histoire de notre ville. Cette restauration ne sera vraiment terminée qu’avec l’installation d’un nouvel orgue !

Le projet

Le projet d’orgue adopté par le Conseil de fondation de la Basilique Notre-Dame sur proposition de la Commission de l’orgue se fonde sur les principes suivants :

Un instrument adapté à la liturgie, ce qui correspond à la vocation première de l’orgue, instrument liturgique par excellence, mais aussi un instrument en harmonie avec l’histoire et l’architecture du sanctuaire. Il rappellera aussi celui de Joseph Anton Mooser, déjà influencé par la facture d’orgues alsacienne de la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Le style du buffet est caractérisé par une simplicité et austérité caractéristiques de la fin du style Louis XVI, le style qui a inspiré la restauration de 1753.

Un type d’orgue s’insérant dans le « paysage organistique » fribourgeois, c’est-à-dire à même de compléter la diversité des orgues de la ville. Le projet s’inspire des orgues du facteur Johann Andreas Silberman (1712-1783), dernier représentant d’une longue et célèbre lignée de facteurs d’orgues, dont les instruments se prêtent particulièrement bien à l’exécution des musiques française et allemande des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle.

Le facteur d’orgues

Le facteur d’orgues pressenti pour la réalisation de cet instrument est la manufacture Blumenroeder, dirigé par le jeune organiste et facteur d’orgues Quentin Blumenroeder, établi à Haguenau, en Alsace. L’atelier Blumenroeder dispose d’une grande expérience dans la restauration des instruments Silbermann et aussi dans la construction d’instruments neufs, le dernier en date étant celui de Charolles en Bourgogne.

La composition de l’orgue

II Grand Orgue

Bourdon 16’ | Montre 8’ | Bourdon 8’ | Prestant 4’ | Quinte 2’ 2/3 | Doublette | Tierce 1’ 3/5 | Fourniture | Cymbale | Cornet 5 rgs | Trompette 8’ | Clairon 4’ | Voix humaine 8’ | Tremblant général

I Positif de dos

Bourdon 8’ | Prestant 4’ | Flûte 4’ | Nazard | Doublette | Tierce | Larigot | Cymbale | Cromorne

III Echo

Bourdon 8’ | Salicional 8’ | Prestant 4 de Cornet | Cornet (dessus) 3rgs | Basson 8’ dessous | Trompette 8’ (dessus)

Pédale

Soubasse 16’ | Octave 8’ | Octave 4’ | Trompette 8’ | Clairon 4’ | Basse de Posaun 16’

Les claviers auront 56 notes du do grave au sol aigu, et la pédale de 32 notes du do grave au sol. L’instrument entier sera réalisé d’après les meilleurs principes de l’ancienne facture d’orgues. L’harmonisation des tuyaux sera réalisée en collaboration avec Jean-Marie Tricoteaux. L’accord sera celui de Silbermann redécouvert récemment sur le positif du Musée des Arts décoratifs de Strasbourg. Le diapason sera celui des instruments du XVIIIe s. à 415 Hz. Le son somptueux des instruments de Silbermann pourra ainsi être mieux restitué, mais pour anticiper les problèmes qui pourraient être posés par ces choix, un orgue de continuo, avec claviers transpositeurs, sera commandé à la facture d’orgues de Frédéric Desmottes à Landete, en Espagne.

 

Le financement

Le budget se monte à CHF 573’000.- pour le grand-orgue et CHF 31’000.- pour l’orgue de continuo, à quoi il faudra ajouter les frais pour adapter les structures de l’édifice.

Le financement repose sur des sources privées, à l’exception des subsides provenant d’organismes publics et d’entreprises semi-publiques.

Donations

Les donations en vue du projet d’orgue feront l’objet d’une attestation de l’Association des Amis de la Basilique Notre-Dame et pourront faire l’objet d’une déduction fiscale.

Si souhaité, les noms des donateurs les plus généreux seront mentionnés sur une plaque apposée sur l’instrument.

Les donateurs peuvent aussi manifester leur soutien au projet en finançant des tuyaux d’orgue. Le nom des donateurs sera gravé sur le ou les tuyaux qu’ils auront financés. Un plan des tuyaux et de leurs coûts sera mis à disposition sur le site internet www.orguesnotredame.ch
Le montant des donations atteint sera mis à jour et affiché en temps réel sur le site internet.